Delaware requires a Door-to-Door Salesperson ID Card

Pursuant to House Bill 49 of Delaware’s 146th General Assembly, any person who solicits door-to-door sales
in the State of Delaware shall display a Salesperson Identification Card (ID card) at all times. Only businesses
with a current State of Delaware Business License will receive an ID Card.
To obtain a State of Delaware Salesperson ID Card, the business entity overseeing the salesperson’s doorto-
door sales must complete and mail this form to the Delaware Division of Revenue (address listed above)
or register online at
Salesperson ID Cards must be worn at all times by any person in Delaware who is soliciting door-to-door
sales directly to an individual at a residential home. Door-to-door sales in Delaware may only occur between
the hours of 9 a.m. and 8 p.m. EST.
Failure to comply with this requirement by conducting door-to-door sales without wearing the registered
Salesperson ID Card could result in criminal prosecution, as well as fines of up to $150 for the first offense
and $250 for each subsequent offense. Anyone wearing a forged ID Card that has not been issued by the
State of Delaware, or falsely obtained for deceitful or malicious intent, also faces criminal prosecution and
fines of up to $150 for the first offense and $250 for each subsequent offense.

A door-to-door Salesperson Identification Card does not apply to persons working on behalf of a non-profit,
conducting home sales events, public utility and cable television system operators, as well as persons soliciting
sales via telephone, mail, email, internet or through door drop.

State of Delaware Salesperson Identification Card Application